One exits Delta Conservative nomination race, Greens pick their candidate

Delta resident Angelina Ireland on Friday confirmed she has withdrawn her bid for the Delta Conservative nomination for the upcoming federal election.

Ireland, who had applied to the party a year ago, said she would not comment further.

The Tsawwassen First Nation’s Tanya Corbet earlier this week announced she’s seeking the nomination.

Corbet made her formal announcement to about 50 supporters at Tsawwassen Springs Wednesday afternoon, saying she’s passionate about the Delta and TFN communities and dedicated much of her life to enhancing community projects and organizations.

Corbet, a former legislative member of the TFN government, said she felt now it’s time to take her experience to the national level and represent Delta, adding it’s also time to take the nation out of scandal. She also said Canada needs new leadership to address the needs of Delta.

Former TFN chief Tony Jacobs and current Delta city council member Lois Jackson also spoke in support.

No one else, so far, has announced a bid for the Conservative nomination, which will likely be confirmed at a nomination meeting in July.


green party delta

Meanwhile, the Greens this week confirmed that Craig DeCraene will be their Delta candidate in the upcoming election.

DeCraene ran for city council in last fall's municipal election.

The NDP and People's Party of Canada have yet to announce Delta candidates.

The Delta riding is currently held by first-term Liberal MP Carla Qualtrough, a key member of Justin Trudeau’s cabinet.

The federal Conservatives this week fired the first volley against Trudeau in the 2019 election campaign, attacking him with several English and French language 30-second television ads.

Meanwhile, the Conservative Party of Canada is reporting a record first-quarter haul of $8 million raised in donations for the upcoming campaign, so far. It's more than double the $3.9 million raised by the Liberals in the first three months of this year.

The federal election is Oct. 21.

© Delta Optimist