BC Book Prizes announces 2017 finalists

Categories for province's top author award include fiction, poetry and books that contribute to our enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia.

Lieutenant-Governor Judith Guichon will be in Vancouver on April 29 to present the BC Book Prizes.

Finalists in seven categories were announced Tuesday morning while the winner of the Lieutenant-Governor's Award for Literary Excellence will be revealed on April 4.

The finalists are as follows:

article continues below

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best work of fiction:

  • Joan Haggerty, The Dancehall Years (Mother Tongue Publishing)
  • Anosh Irani, The Parcel (Knopf Canada)
  • Ashley Little, Niagara Motel (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Jennifer Manuel, The Heaviness of Things That Float (Douglas and McIntyre)
  • Jen Sookfong Lee, The Conjoined (ECW Press)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia:

  • Anthony Kenyon, The Recorded History of the Liard Basin 1790-1910: Where British Columbia joins the Yukon and N.W.T. (Fort Nelson News)
  • Michael Layland, A Perfect Eden: Encounters by Early Explorers of Vancouver Island (TouchWood Editions)
  • David Pitt-Brooke, Crossing Home Ground: A Grassland Odyssey through Southern Interior British Columbia (Harbour Publishing)
  • Christopher Pollon, with photos by Ben Nelms, The Peace in Peril: The Real Cost of the Site C Dam (Harbour Publishing)
  • Neil J. Sterritt, Mapping My Way Home: A Gitxsan History (Creekstone Press)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work:

  • Carmen Aguirre, Mexican Hooker #1: And My Other Roles Since the Revolution (Random House Canada)
  • Deborah Campbell, A Disappearance in Damascus: A Story of Friendship and Survival in the Shadow of War (Knopf Canada)
  • Mohamed Fahmy, with Carol Shaben, The Marriott Cell: An Epic Journey from Cairo’s Scorpion Prison to Freedom (Random House Canada)
  • Joy Kogawa, Gently to Nagasaki (Caitlin Press)
  • Mark Leiren-Young, The Killer Whale Who Changed the World (Greystone Books)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the author of the best work of poetry:

  • Adèle Barclay, If I Were in a Cage I’d Reach Out for You (Nightwood Editions)
  • Anne Fleming, poemw (Pedlar Press)
  • Juliane Okot Bitek, 100 Days (University of Alberta Press)
  • Rob Taylor, The News (Gaspereau Press)
  • Richard Therrien, Sleeping in Tall Grass (University of Alberta Press)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize presented to the best illustrated book written for children:

  • Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Julie Flett, My Heart Fills with Happiness (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Julie Morstad, illustrated by Julie Morstad, Today (Simply Read Books)
  • Margriet Ruurs, illustrated by Nizar Ali Badr, Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family’s Journey (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Nikki Tate, Deep Roots: How Trees Sustain Our Planet (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd, illustrated by Roy Henry Vickers, Peace Dancer (Harbour Publishing)

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize awarded to the best non-illustrated book written for children:

  • Kathleen Cherry, Everyday Hero (Orca Book Publishers)
  • Iain Lawrence, The Skeleton Tree (Tundra Books)
  • R.K. McLay, The Rahtrum Chronicles: The Dream (Fifth House Publishers)
  • Kit Pearson, A Day of Signs and Wonders (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Robin Stevenson, Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community (Orca Book Publishers)

Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production, and content:

  • Aaron Chapman, The Last Gang in Town: The Epic Story of the Vancouver Police vs. the Clark Park Gang (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Wade Davis, Wade Davis: Photographs (Douglas and McIntyre)
  • Michael Layland, A Perfect Eden: Encounters by Early Explorers of Vancouver Island (TouchWood Editions)
  • Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd, Peace Dancer (Harbour Publishing)
  • Richard Wagamese, Embers: One Ojibway’s Meditations (Douglas and McIntyre)

The winners will be announced at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala on Sat, April 29 at the Pinnacle Harbourfront Hotel in Vancouver. The lieutenant-governor will present the recipient of the 2017 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence at the gala; the recipient will be announced April 4. This award was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province. In 2016, the 13th annual award was presented to Alan Twigg. The winners will collectively receive $19,000 in cash prizes.

A selection of the shortlisted authors will be part of BC Book Prizes On Tour. This author reading tour will take finalists to schools and public venues in many communities throughout BC in April.

The awards are sponsored by the West Coast Book Prize Society.

Gala tickets are available online starting Monday, March 13.


Read Related Topics


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Vancouver Courier welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Popular Vancouver Courier

Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter!

Popular Community