Vancouver federal election results: Same as it ever was

Vancouver voters pick incumbents across the board

While Justin Trudeau and his Liberals lost their majority government this election, the table setting for Vancouver ridings looks eerily similar to 2015, save for one noticeable party affiliation change.

As was the case in 2015, NDP candidates Jenny Kwan and Don Davies handily took Vancouver East and Vancouver Kingsway respectively. Liberals Hedy Fry and Joyce Murray also took the lead in their ridings of Vancouver Centre and Vancouver Quadra early on and never looked back.

article continues below

Liberal Harjit Sajjan won a rematch with 2015 opponent Conservative Wai Young in Vancouver South.

But the biggest story of the night, was former Liberal cabinet minister Jody Wilson-Raybould, who decided to run as an independent after resigning from cabinet and getting kicked out of caucus earlier this year. It was a close race but Wilson-Raybould managed to hang on to her seat in Vancouver-Granville.

Read Related Topics


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Vancouver Courier welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Popular Vancouver Courier

Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter!
Find the Vancouver Courier Newspaper