UBCM inducts new executive members

Vanderhoof councillor assumes presidency for 2020-21

The Union of B.C. Municipalities announced its 2020-21 executive board as one of the last business items for the 2020 convention Sept. 24.

District of Vanderhoof Coun. Brian Frenkel succeeds outgoing president Maja Tait after being acclaimed to the position and was officially installed Sept. 24 after serving the past year as first vice-president.

article continues below

“Despite the ongoing pressures we’re all experiencing from COVID-19, our new UBCM executive is ready to move forward right away with working on behalf of our local government and First Nations members,” Frenkel said.

“The resolutions and policy discussions from this special virtual convention have given us the direction we need to address the issues facing municipalities today from local governance issues and economic recovery, to transit, addressing climate change and more,” Frenkel said.

Quesnel Coun. Laurey-Anne Roodenburg has been acclaimed first vice-president, after serving as second vice-president for the past year.

Resort Municipality of Whistler Counc. Jen Ford of the has been acclaimed second vice-president after serving as third vice president for the past year.

And, Fernie Mayor Ange Qualizza of the City of Fernie has been elected third vice-president.



Read Related Topics

© Vancouver Courier

Read more from the Glacier Media

Popular Vancouver Courier

Sign Up For Our e-Newsletter!
Find the Vancouver Courier Newspaper